Well i have been meaning to update on this for ages, so to take my mind of the DLA dramas i thought i would do it now…

I have been taking D-Ribose for months now (see previous posts), and although i was not sure to begin with i am quite sure now that it is having a small positive effect 😉 I did not take it for a couple of days recently as was waiting for a new supply and although those days were fine i had a few days afterwards where my thighs were so heavy it was quite a shock (I also felt very sleepy and could have slept all day and night, which was not how i usually am). Since taking the D-Ribose i have had a lot less of that real heaviness in my legs, where i have felt like manually lifting each leg in turn to go up a step and they feel like they are filled with lead. It is very rarely that bad now. I also think that although they do ache quite badly after i use the muscles, or have a stressful time where i must be tensing them without realising, it does not last as long. The recovery is quicker. In general they feel lighter. I feel less like i am wading through water perhaps.

I do not feel any difference after taking it, like a buzz of extra energy or anything, and i am still unsure if i actually have any more energy – i have not seen any real improvement in how far i can walk, what i can do in a day etc. although this is hard to measure with natural fluctuations, there is certainly no dramatic difference. I still have a lot of symptoms of muscular pain in back, or anywhere i use the muscles more than usual, bad tension headaches and neck pain and tenderness, lightheadedness, dizziness, temperature fluctuations, sensory overload, need to lie down/nap at usually twice each day etc etc etc no change in those areas…

The things that has been a LOT better are my mood and my skin (particularly my face). I cannot really explain that and am not sure why. I have also been taking other supplements: Enzymatic Therapy Energy Revitalisation System & B vitamins, which is a powder (and tablets for b vits) with many different things in, as well as CoQ10 & L-carnetine and also i started taking all this stuff in the spring, just as i started being able to sit outside in the sun more, which i think really helped my skin as it improved almost immediately. My face was very dry and was irritated every time it got wet (eg when washing hair) and it was literally flaking off and started having patches on it that looked a bit like eczema or something, but it is so much better these days. It could be the vitamins or the sunshine or a combination of factors… who knows! I have reduced the vitamins to half a scoop each day and taking the tablets every other day, mainly for cost reasons and have not seen any effect, but i still take the standard dose of D-Ribose: 5mg twice a day.

I also take Vertase Omega369 tablets, but have taken them for years so not really worth mentioning!

So life is sometimes more pleasant but has not opened up particularly… i think the only way to see what impact the D-ribose is having is to stop it for a while and see the difference… which i will do at some point, but i am not sure when i want to risk feeling worse – there is never a good time to do that is there!?

